Allow Me to Introduce Myself.

Allow Me to Introduce Myself.

How's it going? I'm Shamel a Software Developer from Flatiron School. I wanted to take the time to introduce myself in this article. I've had quite a few readers of my content and thought it would be interesting to talk about what makes me tick and what drives me.

The ability to understand

The ability to understand the client, to understand who they are and find their pain points is something that I enjoy. Brainstorming solutions and solving problems is who I am at my core, technology allows me to use and express my talents in effective ways.

Cross-functionality is a skillset that is in my background, I've helped several businesses get off the ground in New York City and it was there that I began to realize that bringing various teams with different expertise together under one project is what I love the most, that same passion still drives me today.

The love for the client/user

Clients and users alike understand when someone values their business and the outcome of their goals, there is a connection that happens when management exudes passion and commitment to every project. I am connected to people and technology, I have an unrelenting problem solving drive that I would love to share with the any team and its millions of users.

A very wise man once said, "Success today requires the agility and drive to constantly rethink, reinvigorate, react, and reinvent". This quote to me is what I intend to bring to my role as a Software Developer or Project Manager everyday. Being agile with projects by frequently reassessing and adapting to plans, reacting to the needs and prompts of my clients and team alike, and reinventing something that we can all be proud of.

Quick story

During my time as a restaurant manager in New York City I learned about projects and pressure. One of the requirements before opening a new location was the need for various certificates, permits & licenses.

I was tasked in helping to open a new dinning experience in the Flatiron District in New York City - Before opening our doors to this new location we had to secure a permit from the Health Department. We had a hard deadline and a set date to open.

We were not fully prepared for our inspection from the Health dept. because of some last minute finishing touches. The owner was extremely nervous because our investors were looking for a return. However I assured him that we would be ready, on time and under budget, so I got to work. In order to ensure our readiness for our opening I enlisted the help of the community, we unpacked deliveries, made sure the kitchen and dinning room was up to spec and we cleaned the location up. As a result, we passed the inspection with an A rating, fed our community and opened the location.

In closing

For me it's more than working at a tech company as a Software Developer or Project Manager, its about finding solutions to the most pressing issues of our time, i am committed more than ever to change the world.